Français  
     
 

Deposit


Glendyne's opencut deposit is located along a dark grey slate bed that is part of a vast mineral assemblage of grey slate, dark grey siltstone, and quartzite found in the Temiscouata Formation (Devonian –400 to –350 million years).

During the Appalachian orogeny, these sedimentary rocks were distorted into large folds and acquired fissility. Fissility is as regular as the minerals are fine.

Slate found at Glendyne's quarry is dark grey with a tone of blue. Its colour is very homogeneous despite the presence of a light stratification marked by silty beds which, often of very fine nature, do not affect slate schistosity.

Due to the Nordic climate, surface alteration is very low. The deposit was preserved from meteorological alterations typical of temperate and hot climates. The Glendyne quarry is thus proud to produce stones of very high quality.


 
Quarry and Geologist

English  
     
 

Gisement


Le gisement à ciel ouvert de Glendyne se situe le long d’un banc d’ardoises gris foncé faisant partie d’un vaste assemblage d'ardoises grises, de siltstones gris foncé et de quartzites assignés à la Formation de Témiscouata (Dévonien -400 à -350 millions d’années).

C’est lors d’une orogénèse, celle des Appalaches, que ces roches sédimentaires se sont déformées en grands plis et ont acquis une fissilité. La fissilité est d’autant plus régulière que les minéraux sont fins.

L’ardoise de Glendyne est gris foncé avec une nuance de bleu; sa teinte est très homogène malgré la présence d’une stratification discrète marquée par des lits silteux qui, étant le plus souvent très fins, n’affectent pas la schistosité de l’ardoise.

Grâce au climat nordique, l’altération de surface est très faible. Le gisement a été préservé de l’altération météoritique typique des climats tempérés et chauds. L’ardoisière Glendyne est donc fière de pouvoir livrer une pierre de très haute qualité.

 
Carrière et géologue